Charge for ministry?

Posted on January 27, 2009. Filed under: Church, Money, Music, Theology, Worship Leading | Tags: , , |

In your job, what is more important to you? If you are a speaker, would you rather make $30,000 a year getting $500 per event, or $40,000 a year, getting less per gig, but getting more gigs because you are affordable?

Is it inappropriate for people in ministry to charge a price? Or, should we do a “love offering” taking a step in faith that God will provide our needs? 

Is charging for your services a way of charging for the gospel?

 People in Ministry please comment! I would like to see some feedback and discussion on this post. If you know someone who could read this, pass it on…

Josh

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Charge for ministry?”

RSS Feed for Joshfowler.net – Thinking it over Comments RSS Feed

Wow, big old heady questions here, bro 🙂

I don’t know.

Hey man, I feel like you wrote this with me in mind. You already know where I stand; well, I don’t even know where I stand on this issue. I can, and have argued both sides. Both stances are justifiable to a degree.

Arguing not charging: if you do charge, how do you charge? How do you set your rates? What is reasonable? Where do you set the limit and how come you get the set the limit or standard and I don’t?

Arguing on charging: it’s your livelihood. If you don’t charge, churches unfortunately will take advantage of you and offer you a “sack of taters” on the way out the door.

There’s plenty more arguing on both sides I can do. I’m glad you brought this up, because I’d love to see some other perspectives.

When I say you or your in this post, it wasn’t you directly, but in general whoever is making the decision of charging or not. Thanks man!

Actually, Jonathan, I did think about you, but the post wasn’t FOR you!!! Ha Ha 🙂 A few weeks ago, I was really far right on this issue. Philosophically, my views haven’t changed, but as far as where I am in my ministry, some things are changing. I am going to post a blog post that my friend Reid Greven posted a while back. He brings some very wise perspective, be looking for it in a little bit.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

