Conviction, magic, and steel guitars

Posted on October 21, 2008. Filed under: Church, Friends, Theology, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , |

Just a few of the words that describe my Sunday. Explain that title, you say? Well, here goes

Con·vic·tion- (kən-ˈvik-shən) Function:noun

1: the act or process of convicting of a crime especially in a court of law 2a: the act of convincing a person of error or of compelling the admission of a truth b: the state of being convinced of error or compelled to admit the truth3 a: a strong persuasion or belief b: the state of being convicted.
So,let me put this in the proper context for you so that you can understand where I am coming from. You see, I am a Christian, which means I have an eternal (forever) lasting relationship with Jesus Christ. My personal belief is that his death on the cross paid for all the sins that I have ever committed or ever will commit. (Ok just bear with me a second, I’m not going totally old school here.) So, if Jesus paid a price for my sins, then that means I was bought for a price, and I owe a debt that I can never repay. So, what does that mean? My relationship with God is not something I earned or deserved. I can never be anything great on my own merit. For me to be anything, (or anything that God called me to be) I have to accept the gift of salvation, or in better tearms, enter the relationship with my heavenly father that God has called me to. (Yes, God really did draw me to him) So what does this have to do with conviction? When we accept God’s gift of Salvation (Which by the way wasn’t free, there was definitely a cost, we just didn’t pay it, and there is even more of a cost. Paul refers to it as picking up your cross and following Jesus,) the holy spirit lives inside of our soul, and points out stuff in our life that has no place being there. That is conviction. You know, that feeling deep inside when you let the guy who cut you off in traffic absolutely have it! Or, when you go to that site, and look at that thing you know you shouldn’t look at. Or what about those things you do when no one else is around, that you can manage to forget about, yet if everyone knew about you would be horribly ashamed? Conviction. CONVICTION. Don’t run from it, embrace it! It’s of God. Should we live in guilt? No, but can it be a good thing? ABSOLUTELY!! So if we were having this conversation face to face, I fel like your next question would be “Josh, what is it that YOU’VE been convicted about?” at which point I would look at you and say “Well gee freakin thanks for asking me that on my blog where the whole world can read it!!” (Just kidding, sort of.) You wanna know what I’ve been convicted of? Well here goes. The things I say when no one is around. The way I address my wife when I lose patience. The illusion that I display when I’m in front of the cool kids. My “cuss words” that “really aren’t that bad, because after all, who made them bad?” ) To me, that’s kind of like asking the question “who told you that you were naked?” My challenge to you is that you would not run from conviction, but that you would embrace it. Step into the light. Step out into that place that God wants you to live. Jeff henderson said it correctly when he said that (and I paraphrase) “God didn’t come to die for the illusion of you, he came to die for the real you.”
 
2.) Magic and steel guitars- At North Point yesterday, I saw one of my good friends, Earl South, do some great stage magic. Actually, have a look at this freak of nature for yourself:
As far as the steel guitars are concerned, another good friend of mine, Jeremy Moyers played steel guitar in the worship set yesterday at Buckhead church. You can check him out at moyerssoundsolutions.com
Well, that’s about all I’ve got for today. Would you mind leaving me a comment and telling me something that God has convicted you about?
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Conviction, magic, and steel guitars”

RSS Feed for Joshfowler.net – Thinking it over Comments RSS Feed

I have been convicted lately about having a grouchy attitude 😦

I’m workin’ on it!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

