Good place to be

Posted on September 6, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized |

You would gather that from the title of my blog, I am talking about my new location in Alphareatta, GA. Well let me tell you, it is VERY cool, but that’s not what I am talking about. I’m talking about where I am in life. In a lot of ways, I am in a real scary place. In other regards, you might describe my situation as even exiting or humbling. Some who know me well say that I am in a spot where I have positioned myself really well. To tell you the truth, I am felling all of these things and more. Let me explain:

Scared out of my mind: When Susan and I were praying about making this Jump, we had a lot to consider. Playing music for a living can be a hard and a risky thing to do. Money (and gigs) are sporadic. Some of them are me leading worship at various churches. Others are playing with a cooperate band, or recording Artists. Sometimes, I am blessed to be able to do my own thing, but those times right now are few and far between. I’m sort of in a building phase when it comes to that. But right now, there is a lot up in the air, and Susan and I are having to rely more on God than we ever have. That’s a little scary. (I know, I know, it shouldn’t be, but if you’ve ever been where I am, you know how I feel!0

I am exited: I am networking with a lot of new people, and when music opportunities come available, I take advantage of them, and try to work very hard to do a good job. I’m at a new church, in a new town, in a new house, meeting new people, in a great big city… Who wouldn’t think that is exiting?

Humbled: I realized that I am not near as good of a musician as I thought I was. There are so many other people with knowledge far beyond mine, with crazy chops and a boat-load of experience to top it all off. I know that I can get the job done, but now I’m in a city with a whole lot of other people who can really get the job done too! In the words of Ed Young Jr, time to go to an HNL (Ho Nutha Level!)

In the words of another great pastor, Bishop TD Jakes, Susan and I fell like we have positioned ourself to receive God’s blessing on our life. Atlanta is a great place to be where opportunities abound. Even though we fully intend on giving this our best shot, we realize that it’s up to God to do with us what he wants. We believe that no matter how hard we try, there are times when we are just going to drop the ball no matter what, but our success even in those weird times is confirmation that God is who he says he is. Sovereign, holy, and in control. No matter what. If there is one thing that I have learned in the past two years in ministry, it’s that God really is in control. Despite our victories, and failures, we are his creation existing to give him glory, and created to worship him. (Sorry, didn’t mean to go over spiritual with that)

So yeah. I think we’re in a good place. But if we could ask anything, it would be this: That you keep us in your prayers. Pray that no matter what we do, we’re always giving it everything. Pray that we strive to keep God in the center of what we do. Pray that we continue to try to hone in on the abilities that God has given us, and that in this new stage we are in, we would be malleable and teachable. 

Thanks to all you guys that read this. Stay tuned! I will be updating regularly…

Josh

Phil 4:6&7

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Good place to be”

RSS Feed for Joshfowler.net – Thinking it over Comments RSS Feed

We miss you guys already! 😦

But we know you’re right smack in the middle of what God has planned for you, so you just go for that “HNL!” We’ll keep praying 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

